21 SEP 2011

Dartmoor National Park Authority

It was good to catch up with Dr Kevin Bishop of the Dartmoor National Park Authority and Cllr Bill Morgan to discuss individual constituents' concerns as well as the proposed changes to the Governance of National Parks. Some have been concerned that the National Parks lack democratic accountability but 4 of the 22 members of DNPA are parish councillors and 12 are directly appointed from district or county councils. 6 are appointed by the Secretary of State. These are not salaried posts but members have a small annual allowance. If you would like to view the proposals to introduce elected representatives then click here

Back to all posts